Exercise Alone

January 14, 2008

It’s best to workout alone than to have a partner or somebody who wants to start working out with you who isn’t serious about it. I just started working out with/training someone today who is having a problem gaining weight. Basically when we got there, he wanted to learn how to run before he even learn how to walk. I wanted him to do no less than 15 reps per exercises because he’s a beginner. His body is not prepped for working out so it’s best to start out with light weight. But instead, he wanted to increase weight and the weight he wanted to do was more than he could handle. That alone shows me that he has an ego problem. Also he wouldn’t listen to me about proper form when he was benching and doing pull-ups. At the bottom portion of the bench, he rested the bar on his chest and bounced it back up. On pull-ups, he was doing more like military kips than a standard pull-up. He was swinging his lower body and he wasn’t going all the way down at the starting position. I wanted him to do high pulls as last workout, but he wouldn’t do it because he was afraid to do them when there were a lot of “big” guys in the gym. I wanted him to atleast do just the bar to get the motion down, but he refused.

I’m not motivated to train him anymore as he’s not putting in the effort for himself. I’m doing this for free to do him a favor, but I don’t like to waste my time when he keeps it up like this.

Anyways, this is my workout today:

Bench Press – 165 lbs for 4 reps, 160 lbs for 4 reps, 140 lbs for 8 reps
Pull Up – bodyweight 168 lbs. for 8x6x4 (I did one more rep after 10 seconds rest to make it 5 reps on the last set)
High Pull – 160 lbs for 3 sets of 5 reps

One Response to “Exercise Alone”


  1. […] Lose pregnancy weight and flatten your tummy with the MuTu® SystemJoint Pain ReliefBathing costumeThe Skinny Guy’s Guide To Gaining Weight […]


Leave a comment